At the beginning of last week, I was feeling rather smug and happy. You see, I had avoided the office plague that had decimated our ranks the two weeks prior.

And then I caught it.

A miserable flu that didn’t even have the courtesy of announcing itself with a stuffed nose or any of the other regular symptoms of the flu. Instead, it simply left me exhausted with a pounding headache. For the last six days.

On the plus side, I completed every single beginner-level park in Rollercoaster Tycoon 2 and its two expansion packs!

On the downside, I was miserable and bored and simply ready. to. be. well.

To feel like myself.

That’s the problem with getting sick. It strips you of all your you-ness and leaves behind an empty shell that just wants sleep and trashy TV.

So today, even though I still felt fluctuatingly weak all day, when I actually wanted to sit down and write something, I knew I was finally on my way to getting better.

And just in time – I’m going on vacation Wednesday night!

 

Postscript: Just as I hit “Publish” on this post, “Bad Day” by Daniel Powter came on my iPod. The perfect accompaniment, methinks!

