I once read a comment on a blog (long since forgotten unfortunately) something along the lines of “When you say ‘should’ you’ve already lost.”

I say ‘should’ to myself a lot. I should write a blog post tonight. I should take care of that thing hanging over my head. I should have accomplished X by this point in my life.

Should. Should. Should.

To that I now say, “Says who?!”

Me, that’s who. And that’s why it’s so hard to escape!

So I’m trying to change that. I’m replacing should with will.

With apologies to Field of Dreams, if I want it, I will do it.

I’m taking control of my life. I’m stopping regrets. I will blog about them to my heart’s content for the sake of catharsis, but once that is over and done with, I will stop agonizing over it. And I am a champion agonizer, let me tell you!

There’s no one stopping me from achieving any of my goals except myself. I just need to remind myself of that every so often, as it is unfortunately something that is so easy to forget!

So, in the immortal words of Mark Twain/Samuel Clemens, it is time for me to” throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in [my] sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

That’s all I want out of life really anyway. To explore. To dream. To discover.

