Today has been an all-over-the-place sort of day. Which is much like any day, I suppose, but today in particular I noticed the intense effects that small events, or happenstances, or people can have on my mood.

6:03 a.m.: Birds outside my window wake me up. I shut the window. Can still hear them. I turn my fan on the highest setting in an attempt to drown them out. Can still hear them. Put my pillow over my head. Can. Still. Hear. The. Devil. Birds.

Mood: Very unhappy.

8:30 a.m.: Finally get out of bed after fitful bursts of sleep since 6:30 or so. Finish off cinnamon-raisin bread for breakfast whilst catching up on newspapers after a week away.

Mood: Happy, though slightly sad that all the yummy cinnamon-raisin bread is gone.

10:15 a.m.: Father goes to church; mom and sister head out to play some tennis; I settle down to watch Torchwood: Miracle Day.

Mood: Rather gleeful. Though the episode isn’t magnificent, it satisfies my craving for more Captain Jack and delightful Welsh accents.

12:45 p.m.: Everyone returns. Am starving but told I have to wait for my grandmother to arrive before we can eat.

Mood: Grouchy. I need my food!

1:30 p.m.: Finally make lunch: Nutella and strawberry crepes!

Mood: Blissfully satiated.

4:00 p.m.: Lunch finally ends and my family disperses to its various Sunday afternoon pass-times. I settle in with my computer, and start making plans to see Harry Potter this week. Discover that ALL of the midnight showings in my area are COMPLETELY SOLD OUT.

Mood: DEVASTATED

4:30 p.m.: Recover from the devastation. Time to play with pictures, which I then post to Facebook and Flickr! As I haven’t done this in forever and have quite the backlog, this takes quite some time…

Mood: Tra la la. Also: relief that I can finally strike those pictures off my to-do list and people can stop asking me when I’m going to post them!

7:30 p.m.: Dinner time! Yummy pesto pasta with sauteed onions and grilled chicken! Except: it’s whole grain pasta. Blech.

Mood: Hungry enough to ignore the cardboard pasta.

8:00 p.m.: Father’s mood takes a turn for the worse, for no apparent reason, considering he has spent the afternoon on his two favorite pass-times: exercising and watching golf/napping. Get into a series of verbal spars. As per usual.

Mood: Rather black.

9:00 p.m.: Had made decision to retire to my room so as to avoid further conflict with my father, until he makes snarky remark about me running away.

Mood: Seething.

9:10 p.m.: Mom and sister put on Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I settle in with my handy-dandy laptop and employ the cathartic powers of writing.

Mood: Calmer. Happier. More able to go to sleep soon!

Here’s to tomorrow being better and more stable, as I return to work and am away from my family for 11-12 hours! Too much family for me over the past week of “vacation”.

Now where are those apartment listings…?

